National Union of Plantation Workers (NUPW)

The National Union of Plantation Workers (NUPW) was formed in 1954 by Nathan, P. P. Narayanan and Choudry.

According to Menon and Leggett (1996), the establishment of NUPW was endorsed by the British colonial regime, the Trade Union Adviser of Malaya J.A. Brazier, the Malayan Planting Industries Employers’ Association (MPIEA) and a representative of the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU).

NUPW and MPIEA signed the first collective agreement in 1954, covering annual paid holiday, wage increment, hospitalisation benefits, health care and housing. In addition, NUPW raised matters relating to forced eviction and sexual harassment with the authorities.

In 1990, the NUPW held a three-day strike to demand higher wages for plantation workers. Unfortunately, the government intervened in the strike and refused to refer the trade dispute to the industrial court. Eventually, a compromise was reached by increasing 85 cent wages for plantation workers.

For decades, NUPW played a dominant role in the Malaysian Trades Union Congress (MTUC). The NUPW general secretary P. P. Narayanan had been elected as the MTUC president for 10 terms, (1950-51, 1951-52, 1955-56, 1973-74, 1975-76, 1977-78, 1979-80, 1981-82, 1983-84, 1985-86). P. P. Narayanan was elected as the president of the ICFTU in 1975.

Now, A. Navamukundan is the national executive secretary of NUPW.

Contact NUPW :

Address : No. 428, Jalan 5/46, Gasing Indah, 46000 Petaling Jaya, Selangor

Tel. No. : 03-77827622