Sabah Bank Employees Union (SBEU Sabah)

In the early 1960s, bank employees in Sabah, whether clerical or executive employees, joined Sabah Commercial Employees Union (SCEU), which accepted workers from banking, plantation, timber and shop workers.

The SCEU organized a successful strike at the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation (HSBC) for collective bargaining deadlock in 1965. As a result, HSBC accepted the union’s demands.

However, after the Malaysian government implemented the Trade Union Act 1959 in Sabah, trade unions were forced to strictly follow the division of “trade, industry, occupation and establishment”. The bank employees were asked to form their own bank unions.

On 11 September 1966, the Sabah Banking Employees’ Union (SBEU Sabah) was formed and registered with the registrar of trade unions. Bank executives established the Sabah Bank Executives Union.

SBEU Sabah organized non-executive workers in 14 banks in the state, such as AFFIN Bank, AM Bank, CIMB Bank, Hong Leong Bank, Maybank, Public Bank, RHB bank, HSBC bank, UOB Bank, Bank Islam and others.

Industry-wide bargaining is rare in Malaysia, SBEU Sabah is one of few exceptions. In February 2019, SBEU Sabah signed the 15th industry-wide collective agreement (2018-2022) with Sabah Commercial Banks Association.

The collective agreement provides 10-12% salary increment to bank employees according to their job categories. The CA will benefit 1300 members of SBEU Sabah.

SBEU Sabah Leadership

President : Margaret Chin Sat Peng

General Secretary : Catherine Jikunan

Assistant Secretary : Margaret Chin Pau Jin

SBEU Sabah Contact :

Tel No. : 088-245500

Email :

Facebook page :